Who We Are

Institute Scientists
Dr. Edwards is director of the Moss Rehabilitation Research Institute and oversees the Edwards Laboratory for Stroke Motor Recovery.
Dr. Buxbaum is associate director of MRRI and the director of the Cognition and Action Laboratory, which focuses on studying the behavioral and brain bases of skilled action and object use in healthy and stroke participants.
Dr. Whyte is the former director of MRRI and is director of the TBI Rehabilitation Research Laboratory, which focuses on assessment and treatment of cognitive deficits after TBI, as well as developing new methods for translational neurorehabilitation research.
Dr. Antonucci, a clinical researcher and speech-language pathologist who specializes in aphasia and aphasia rehabilitation, is director of the MossRehab Aphasia Center .
Dr. Kantak is the director of the Neuroplasticity and Motor Behavior Laboratory, which focuses on understanding the neural and behavioral basis of control and learning of movements skills with a long-term goal to enhance motor recovery in patients with neurological disorders through innovative application of behavioral and brain stimulation techniques.
Dr. Erica Middleton is Director of the Language and Learning Lab, which focuses on language production, learning and language change, and rehabilitation of acquired language impairment (aphasia).
Dr. Rabinowitz is the director of the Brain Injury Neuropsychology Laboratory, which studies the neurobiological and psychosocial factors that influence recovery from traumatic brain injury (TBI) across the spectrum of injury severity.
Dr. Wlotko directs the Cognitive Neurophysiology and Neuropsychology Lab, which investigates the cognitive and neural mechanisms involved in understanding meaning from everyday language.
Dr. Wong is the director of the Cognitive-Motor Learning Laboratory, which investigates interactions between the motor system and cognition that influence how people learn skilled movements.
Scientist Emeritae
Dr. Schwartz is co-founder of MRRI. For many years, she headed the Language and Aphasia Laboratory, which conducts behavioral and brain studies of language breakdown and recovery in people with aphasia.
Ms. Fink retired in 2016 as clinical director of the MossRehab Aphasia Center, which meets the long-term communication and psychosocial needs of individuals who have been affected by aphasia.
Dr. Hart conducted extensive research on TBI outcomes and treatments, with special focus on long-term psychosocial outcomes and treatments involving cognitive and emotional self-regulation. For many years, she directed the Moss Traumatic Brain Injury Model System. She also contributed to projects focused on specifying the active ingredients of rehabilitation and enhancing the rigor of treatment research.
Scientist in Residence
Gabriella Vigliocco, PhD
Dr. Vigliocco is professor of psychology at University College London, where she directs the Language and Cognition Laboratory and co-directs the Deafness, Cognition, and Language research center.
Post-Doctoral Fellows
Abhijeet Patra, PhD, Post-Doctoral Fellow, (PatraAbh@einstein.edu)
Frank Garcea, PhD, Post-Doctoral Fellow, (Garceafr@einstein.edu)
Marja-Liisa Mailend, PhD, Post-Doctoral Fellow, (MailendM@einstein.edu)

Scientific Advisory Board
Chair, Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, Kimberly-Clark Distinguished Chair in Mobility Research.
Director, Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine; Professor of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine.
Director, Cerebrovascular Division of Neurology, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine; Professor of Neurology, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine.
Appointed Professor Emeritus, Department of Neurology, University of Florida.
President and Director of Research, Haskins Laboratory; Associate Professor, Department of Linguistics, Yale University
Mary Czerniak
Program Coordinator/ Administrative Assistant
Stephen Faha
Database Coordinator
David Kennedy
Technology Coordinator
Grace Loscalzo
Lauren McLaughlin
Administrative Coordinator
Kevin Whelihan